Sweat Out the Winter Blues at Moksha Yoga Danforth

There’s nothing more peaceful than a weekend snowfall in the middle of February. To-do lists seem to be put aside for the day, in favour of a hot cup of tea, a blanket and a good book. For me, today was the perfect time to head over to Moksha Yoga Danforth for a tranquil weekend wrap-up and winter blues buster.

Shedding my slushy boots and heavy parka, I stepped into a warm (read: HOT!) winter getaway, just steps from the hustle and bustle of the Danforth. For 90 minutes, I sweated away all my week’s cares, stresses and toxins and just focused on my balance – both internally and externally.

~~

I wanted to begin my Fit in the Six journey at Moksha Yoga Danforth not only because it’s my local yoga haunt, but it’s also where I inadvertently began my journey to this blog. Growing up, I was the sporty girl – two-a-day hockey practices and summer soccer tournaments. It wasn’t until I stepped into the role of university student and out of the athlete role that I realized I needed to find a new way to keep fit.

Fast-forward to my time working for lululemon in Toronto. While some see lululemon as a slightly over-priced clothing store, it was a lifestyle for me. The “lemons” I worked with opened my eyes to a new world of fitness – one that didn’t necessarily require extensive equipment, practices and hard-hitting action. It was at this time I first visited Moksha Yoga, and I haven’t looked back.

While I may still stiffle a giggle from time to time when asked to “breath from my ears, ” hot yoga is a fantastic way to exercise. Not only are you stretching, flexing, holding and balancing your way through an hour and a half class, but your battling the 30 degree heat. There is no greater feeling of achievement than leaving a class drenched in sweat and a big smile on my face.

For those who have never tried hot yoga – whether it’s at Moksha Yoga Danforth or elsewhere – I highly recommend it! Here are some tips for any new hot yogi:

  • Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate! With hot classes, you will sweat more than you’ve ever sweat before. As such, you need to make sure that you’re on track with your daily hydration game (drinking 8-10 glasses/day). Trust me, it’s a must!
  • Bring a towel: If you’re like me, I’m not much of a sweater during regular workouts, but this is no regular workout. Expect your towel to be drenched by classes’ end.
  • Try a Vinyasa class: If you’re a new comer to yoga, I recommend you try a few reduced heat Vinyasa classes first, before heading into a Flow class. Vinyasa classes will not only help you master the basic poses of practicing yoga, but the reduced temperature will help you acclimatize to the heat.

Looking for a hot yoga studio close to you? There are Moskha Yoga studios all across this fair city of ours. For more information, visit here.

Happy sweating friends!

(Feature Image courtesy: Fit In The Six / Meghann Cox)

Leave a Reply

